Natural Hair and Other Kinky Stuff

When Brown Girls Play

Those essential oils and hair butters had our kinks and coils glistening in the sun. The heat made even the classy girls wanna pull out booty shorts and halter tops.

I said “hum um” too many times to count because the conversations were real. We laughed a lot too.

I met up with a few friends to celebrate summer at a large, food truck event recently.

We indulged in comfort foods that were NOT aligned with our “summer time fine” regimen.  Our conversations were candid and in true brown girl fashion,  we discussed dating, career goals, church and even decided to start our own bible study.

We traded tips and tricks and soaked up the sun like we were on a mini vacation.

I had work to do that simply didn’t get done. I couldn’t pull myself away from the fun and good vibes. So instead, I abandoned adulting and embraced fun.

I was reminded, as I often am, of how lovely and important it is to be around great, black women.
These women inspire me. They feed my soul and pour into me to the point of overflow. 

Oh,how I am blessed!

Don’t forget to subscribe for weekly content and while you are here, you should get comfortable, look around, and comment or like a post so I know you stopped by.

Have a topic request? Leave it below and I will address that topic within a week.

~Thanks for Keeping it Kinky~

logo

2 Responses to “When Brown Girls Play”

  1. Brittani

    I couldn’t agree with you more on the energy of being surrounded by amazing black women! But how do you manage to find/build such genuine connections? Yes, this is my topic suggestion☺️ I’ve heard numerous adult women confess loneliness in major cities & difficulty in building new friendships. Would you care to share with us how you go about circle of girl power?

    Reply
    • callmekinky

      That’s a great question! You are absolutely right. Transplants find it challenging to connect with others when they move to a new place. There are also challenges for women too, which may stem from stereotypes or from having bad experiences meeting new groups of women previously.

      Reply

For personal advice or business inquires, please contact me at callmekinky08@gmail.com

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

