Natural Hair and Other Kinky Stuff

You Are Using the Wrong Comb

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 7.24.41 PM

The tiny salon was packed with chairs and bags of hair surrounded each wall. I listened to the accents and could tell that most of the women were West African. That infamous “sucking of the teeth”  sound and the “Char-lie” exclamation at the end of sentences just told me so.

The stylist began to part my natural hair with a comb and I politely handed her the one I brought from home. My thick mane intimidated her. I was not about to allow her to comb my coils with the tiny ass comb she held in her hand.

And then she reached for grease and I said “no” before I could even spit out a sentence.

 

“I don’t use grease on my scalp or hair,” I added.

I caught of glimpse of her rolling her eyes.  She started to cornroll my hair and I reminded her that I didn’t want it tight. She got it right after a few corrections.

She told me my hair was too big, too thick- basically my hair was just too damn much.

My hair turned out great. I like the crochet style. I paid the inflated price and walked out. I have not been back to that salon.

A lot of stylist can do hair but only a few actually use healthy hair practices.

 

Don’t forget to subscribe for weekly content and while you are here, you should get comfortable, look around, and comment or like a post so I know you stopped by.

Have a topic request? Leave it below and I will address that topic within a week.

~Thanks for Keeping it Kinky~

logo

 

4 Responses to “You Are Using the Wrong Comb”

  1. mstaimi

    I totally agree. I hate hair salons now. Sometimes they even want to blow out a persons hair before they even plait it into cornrows and they just do it so rough. Ive decided to just learn how to braid and style my own hair. I refuse for someone to mistreat my hair. I love my 4c hair too much 🙂

    Reply

For personal advice or business inquires, please contact me at callmekinky08@gmail.com

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

