Natural Hair and Other Kinky Stuff

If We Were Having Coffee

Credit: Coffee photo via Shutterstock

If we were having coffee, I would gush about my new career and the fact that I am finally in the role I desired to be in three years ago. I would go on an on about my recent travel adventures and my desire to live abroad again. And when you smiled back and asked me about a certain someone, I would give you that knowing glance and simply say that “all is well.” Nothing else. Just that.

If we were having coffee, I would admit that the thought of cute, brown babies sometimes dominates my daydreams. You would remind me of how much your life has changed after having a baby and all. You would tell me how you are ready for a get-a-away and how you stalk Groupon vacations wishing to be anywhere but home. I would pause and wonder if I will feel the same way in a few years.

If we were having coffee,  we would compare the books we recently read and cut each other off in mid-sentence. We would bob and weave in and out of conversations, intertwining thoughts and starting and stopping and  somehow keeping all the different conversations straight in our minds.  A white guy wearing Toms, would look our way and you would effortlessly move your hand and gently grip your locs and push them out of your face. I would look too but divert my eyes when he boldly stares too long. “He has a lot of nerve,” I would think without even bothering to say it because you already know.

If we were having coffee, when we stumbled upon silence, I would sip my vanilla bean latte and silently wish that life could be as sweet as the vanilla syrup and cinnamon that dances on my tongue with each sip.

 

  • Don’t forget to subscribe for weekly content and while you here, you should get comfortable, look around, and comment or like a post so I know you were here. 
  • Have a topic request? Leave a comment below and I will address that topic within a  week. 

Thanks for Keeping it Kinky~

logo

4 Responses to “If We Were Having Coffee”

  1. Carol

    Loved your article so well done so well articulated I see we have another writer in the family

    Reply
    • callmekinky

      Thank you Auntie. I really think it’s in our DNA. I’ve finally decided to nurture my talent in this area and it’s going to be a great journey.

      Reply

For personal advice or business inquires, please contact me at callmekinky08@gmail.com

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

