Natural Hair and Other Kinky Stuff

The Drum was Calling Me 

I was tired and all I wanted to do was shower and get in bed but this nagging voice kept creeping in my head and I couldn’t silence it. 

“You need to workout.” 

“Can I just skip tonight?” “It’s already late.”

I tried to bargain to no avail. So I changed into my gear and went to the gym. 

I ran harder, stronger and longer than I have in a long time. My chest didn’t feel like it was going to cave in like it normally does. 

 
A mile later, I jumped off the treadmill and stumbled into the aerobics room. I selected an African Dance lesson with skepticism. It was actually a great video though. I felt my legs burning and my internal heat rise. I was moving with the drums calling out to me so I knew I had to answer. 
I finished the dance routine and picked up the dumbells to do weighted squats, squeezing my glutes on the way up. I did a few reps of arm work and felt compelled to “whip and nae nae” when the song came on. 

I’m glad I gave into that nagging voice because my body deserved it. I keep telling myself that fitness and healthy behaviors are synonymous with loving thyself. I don’t know how long I’ll be able to psyche myself up but I hope that at some point, I won’t have to. 

  

2 Responses to “The Drum was Calling Me ”

  1. KinkCHIC

    Nice post. I try to workout too.. But i loose weight because of stress so it’ll be better if i workout. Whenever the drums call..heed it 😀

    Reply
    • callmekinky

      You can do it. I’ve finally gotten focused and this is my 3rd week of going hard. Try to find an accountability partner until you can do it on your own. It’s a challenge but now I’m doing it to prove something to myself.

      Reply

For personal advice or business inquires, please contact me at callmekinky08@gmail.com

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

