Natural Hair and Other Kinky Stuff

Drug Store Foundation Reviews

 

I’ve been experimenting with different foundations.  I’m an oily girl so I tend to stick with what I know works. Common brands such as black opal and ruby kisses have always been my staple products but I also loved the consistency of most covergirl foundations as well. Here is a quick review of each product (minus Covergirl since I can’t remember the exact one I used).

 
Ruby Kisses semi Matt liquid foundation- This foundation has good coverage and is buildable. The semi-mate finish creates a healthy “dewy” look that’s perfect for spring and summer. However, if you have oily skin, a primer and setting powder is a must. This product also has medication to treat acne. For 5.99, this product is a good value. 

  

Black Opal Cream stick foundation- Me and this stick go WAY back. I believe it’s the first foundation I ever used. It’s creamy and easy to blend. It has never caused me to break out but it does transfer throughout the day if you rub on something, which is highly annoying.  This product doesn’t settle in pores and is available in over 6 shades. The colors are also tailored to fit brown girls and I appreciate that. You can select  a darker color for contouring purposes too. I set this look with ruby kisses setting powder. The packaging is compact and there is a lot of product. The price varies by location but it’s usually 7.99 or less.  

What are your favorite drugstore foundations and products ?

Which look do you like better based on the pictures ?

         

6 Responses to “Drug Store Foundation Reviews”

  1. Sincerely Reckless...Religiously Vogue

    Hey you should try the Essence soft touch mousse makeup.

    Reply
    • callmekinky

      I have never heard of that one but I will definitely Google it right now. Thanks for the suggestion! Is it full coverage?

      Reply
      • Sincerely Reckless...Religiously Vogue

        It is more of a medium coverage foundation if you want to have a more natural look.

  2. Sade Hankey

    I recently bought the Black Opal cream stick, but bought a shade too dark. I’ve using it as a contouring stick. I know what you mean about it rubbing off though! I can not touch my face to anything unless I want to risk ruining it! But I do love the amount in the bottle and that the brand is catered to women of color. I set mine with Covergirl’s Queen matted powder. Thanks for the reviews darling!

    Reply
    • callmekinky

      I was so irritated today bc I mistakenly touched my face and then my book and the page was stained with brown residue. However, you are right. The coverage, price and shade variety makes it worth it. Which color do you use to contour with? Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Reply
      • Sade Hankey

        Suede mocha. But I feel as summer comes I may have to transition it to my foundation color, but it may be a little too heavy.
        But I’m in love with L’oreal’s true match! I though the color was too light for me, but it literally changes to match your skin. I also like Revlon’s Photoready in 11 (a little too light) and 12.

For personal advice or business inquires, please contact me at callmekinky08@gmail.com

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

