Natural Hair and Other Kinky Stuff

Natural Hair: Removing Box Braids 

I finally took down my box braids in quite a random fashion. I started taking them down late one night and continued until they were all removed. I soaked my strands in VO5 conditioner and pulled my hair back into a pony tail. 

My half wigs got me through the rest of the week as my hair remained in the conditioner underneath. I didn’t intend for it to happen that way but my schedule was cra.’ 


 

Washing Process:

After I couldn’t take dirty hair anymore, I grabbed sulfate free shampoo and peppermint black soap. I dunked my head into running water and gently detangled as the conditioner was running down my strands. I then washed my hair about 3 times until the water ran clear. Kinky was dirty as hell too. I massaged my scalp during the shampoo process to remove buildup. 

Styling:

I immediately separated my hair into 4 sections. I applied a leave in conditioner, moisturizer, Hawaiian Silky 14-1 and Eco styler gel. I really spent time detangling with my finger and then with a wide tooth comb. Since I kept my braids in nearly 3 months, I did have extra tangles that required extra care. 

After fully detangling, I created 4 medium size twists within each of the 4 sections. I air dried overnight and set under a bonnet dryer the following day to speed up the drying process. 

Results:

I was pleasantly surprised when I removed the twists. I had a big, soft and defined twist out. Though I applied the aforementioned products randomly and in no particular order, they all really worked well together. It’s been 10 days and I’ve only re-moisturized once. My hair is still soft, moisturizer and tangle free. 

 

shea butter and eco styler on my edges


good definition even after getting rained on

 

 

I will also add a review of the Hawaiian Silky product since this was my first time using it. I hope you enjoyed this post. If so, comment below.

For personal advice or business inquires, please contact me at callmekinky08@gmail.com

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

