Natural Hair and Other Kinky Stuff

Natural Hair: Caring for Box Braids

I have had box braids in for about 6 weeks. While I typically use the beloved organic root stimulator dry shampoo to care for my scalp when protecting styling in braids or sew-ins, this time I used Peppermint Organic Black Soap to cleanse my scalp.

 

IMG_1243 IMG_1247

I applied the thick soap to my scalp using my fingertips. In a circular motion, I allowed the soap to turn into a frothy lather before rinsing. I  followed up with Garnier Fructis fortifying conditioner simply because it was already in the shower. I applied this product in the same manner and thoroughly rinsed it out to prevent residue and product build up.

I used a thick towel to squeeze the excess water from the braids and briefly dried my scalp with a bonnet blow dryer. I did not have time to allow my hair to completely dry but it air-dried over the course of the day. I coated my thick edges with creamy Shea butter.

 

 

IMG_1282

My scalp feels refreshed. It was thirsty for moisture. My new growth is extremely soft. I will apply a little shea butter, tea tree, and vitamin E to my scalp as needed. For the next two weeks, I will play around with various styles and then move on to another protective style.

What are your favorite protective styles?

For personal advice or business inquires, please contact me at callmekinky08@gmail.com

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

