Natural Hair and Other Kinky Stuff

Natural Hair: The Sew In and Wash n Go

IMG_1023.JPGIMG_1020.JPG

It’s been a long time since I have had my natural hair out. I missed “Kinky” so much. After having a full head sew in with a closure for about 2 months, I felt like my hair needed to breathe.

This is the first sew-in I’ve had that included a net. Let me just say that I absolutely HATED having a net. I could not access my scalp the way I normally do. Even washing my hair became a struggle. It was nearly impossible to fully cleanse and moisturize the way I wanted to and trying to properly dry it was another story.

So I finally took my hair down. Two of my friends helped with the process. The net also made it a bit more complex to take it down. My natural hair still felt moisturized though and I was pleasantly surprised by that. I co-washed the night I took the sew in out and slept in conditioner overnight. I used Suave’s Coco-Leche conditioner, which is the equivalent to Suave’s coconut and milk conditioner in the United States. I washed my hair the following morning with black soap and incorporated Aussie moist 3 minute miracle to deep condition. (Favorite!)

I also love the new “moisture intense curly bouncing pudding” by African Pride. I tried it a few times this summer and this time I raked it through my hair along with clear pro style gel. It coaxed my curls into pretty “S” ringlets. Its also inexpensive. I purchased it at a beauty supply store for less than $6. I’ll try this combo again to see the results.

I attempted to stretch my hair by putting my hair in two pony tails and banding the braids.

IMG_1010-0.JPG

But my low porosity hair was still wet after a day and a half. So I removed the rubber band and braids and allowed my hair to dry freely. As a result, my hair shrunk quite a bit. I parted a portion of my hair in the front and flat twisted to have a defined bang.

Overall, I like the results of this quasi wash n go. I’ll twist it tonight to stretch it a bit more. I’m satisfied with the health and growth of my hair. I cut my hair in June and had it trimmed slightly in mid September when I got the weave installed and I’m back to BSL.

I will likely protective stylethroughout the winter especially when I return from lovely Buenos Aires and face the bitter cold in New York.

I loved how kinky and untamed my hair is. It’s truly an expression of who I am at my core. I am glad kinky and I are getting acquainted again. 😘

IMG_0883.JPG

IMG_0882.JPG

IMG_1012.JPG

I would love to keep you abreast of my adventures, mishaps, pleasant surprises and pure shenanigans. Subscribe to receive new posts in your inbox. Thanks for keeping it kinky.

Show your enthusiasm for the site by tweeting or sharing the link on your Facebook page or other social media sites.
Keep it Kinky’: Subscribe to receive FREE weekly updates directly in your inbox
Reciprocity: Help me stay connected with you by leaving your blog or website below.
Last but not least: Say “Hi” sometimes. I love connecting with you, sharing information on topics you are interested in and answering your questions. Let me know your thoughts by emailing me or commenting below

2 Responses to “Natural Hair: The Sew In and Wash n Go”

For personal advice or business inquires, please contact me at callmekinky08@gmail.com

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

