Natural Hair and Other Kinky Stuff

Kinky Has An Attitude

I have been neglecting Kinky..you know my attitude-having, does what she wants to do hair!

 

Image

Kinky has been tucked away for months and I rarely let her out. I do not have much time for pre-pooing, washing, deep conditioning and dentagling sessions. I do call them sessions because it can literally take a few hours to do all of these things. The good news is that this doesnt have to be done multiple times per week. If you are like me, you may be able to stretch your hair sessions for about 2 weeks before having to do all these steps again. After I removed my sew in (see below), I did an amla and deep conditioning treatment prior to styling.

Image

I then twist my hair back and rocked this wig from Sensational.I have had it for a long time and I actually hated it at first. I decided toImage pull it back out and customize it to fit my face. With hair scissors, I began snipping off hair to create more depth and layers. I brushed out the set curls to create a more natural curly/wavy look. I got a lot of compliments on this wig, which is actually a u-part unit. I also decided to not leave any hair out as most people do with U-Parts wigs.  Instead, I used the clips to clip the u-part area near my natural part so it looked more like an invisible part. The curls made it easier to conceal the differences between my hair and the wig.

I am desperate need of a trim as well and I will be getting one in the next week or so. I am on the hunt for a stylist who isn’t “scissor happy.”  There is a tendency for stylist to want to create a style, shape, or completely even layers. I am natural and I don’t plan on wearing my hair straight often so I could care less about each section being completely even.  I’ll go for broke at one of these NYC salons but I think its worth it for a great trim at a reputable salon.

 

Keep it Kinky

 

For personal advice or business inquires, please contact me at callmekinky08@gmail.com

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

