Natural Hair and Other Kinky Stuff

Shea Moisture- Do the products really moisturize?

Day 8. crazy moisture & definition

Day 8. crazy moisture & definition

I love natural hair products that are easily accessible and affordable. I had heard a lot about Shea Moisture and even spent quite some time reading the labels and reviews. So when walgreens had a buy one get one free (BOGO) sale a few months ago, I thought it would be a great opportunity to try these products. I picked up the famous curl enhancing smoothie, the restorative conditioner and the curl and shine shampoo. These products do not contain parabens, sulfates, mineral oil etc. so they are curly girl friendly. I had dabbled in the curl enhancing smoothie and it was just AIGHT in my opinion.

However, I decided to try all three products together and I am quite impressed. First of all, my curl definition was sick.  Secondly, I did not have to moisturize my hair for 5 days and my low porosity hair tends to be dry.  Here are the pros and cons for each product:

ORGANIC COCUNUT & HIBISUC CURL AND SHINE SHAMPOO:

Pros: cleanses w/o stripping the hair, pleasant scent,

Cons: The consistency made me want to use more product than neccessary

RAW SHEA BUTTER RESTORATIVE CONDITIONER W/ sea kelp, Argan Oil, and Shea Butter:

Pros: creamy, heavy enough for thick manes, rich, softtens the hair, great for detangling

Cons: THE SCENT..where do I start? It smells like a floral perfume and for that reason I WONT purchase this product again. The smell was so pungent that I almost stopped using it during the styling process. My sensitive noise became irritated and my allergies started to flare. This is no go for me. Matter of fact, if you want this product, comment below. You can have it for free as long as you pay shipping. 

CURL ENHANCING SMOOTHIE:

Pros: rich, creamy, great for braids and twist outs, provides long-term moisture, small amounts still yield great results, light scent that smells great without being overpowering

Cons: can be sticky/tacky, may leave a white residue on hair after the hair dries

I give all these products a thumbs up. It has nearly been 2 weeks and my hair is incredibly soft and moisturized. On day 7, I spritzed my hair with water and added a bit more curl enhancing smoothie. I detangled and re-braided my hair and got great results!

Check out CVS, Walgreens, Walmart, or Target for these products. They average $9.99 at most retailers.

These products also work well with relaxed tresses. However, if you are relaxed, I would suggest using less product to avoid weighing down the strands.

L to R. shamppo, conditionor, smoothie

L to R. shampoo, conditioner, smoothie

 

7 Responses to “Shea Moisture- Do the products really moisturize?”

  1. Vanessa

    I love this brand. I have the lemongrass salt soak and it smells amazing and leaves my skin so smooth. Do you have any suggestions for a shea butter body balm that is not too expensive or high in scent?
    love,
    V

    Reply
    • callmekinky

      In my opinon, shea moisture products do moisturize. I have been using them for a few years and they have always worked well on my hair. The first ingredient on many of their products is water. Having water as the first ingredient is usually a good sign.

      Reply
  2. BlackZulu

    After reading much about Shea Moisture I went out and purchased quite a bit of their products but have decided that, besides the curl enhancing smoothie, I don’t particularly think they work for my hair. The conditioner when applied to my hair does NOT make it soft or easy to comb thru so that was a sure sign something was right. Regular V05 or my Giovanni instantly softens my strands tho. I won’t hit the brand, because I know a lot of ppl rave about it, but I wouldn’t repurchase.

    Reply
    • callmekinky

      I definitely understand. That just proves that different hair types respond better to certain products versus others. I am still loyal to V05 as well because it is cheap and effective especially for my “pre-poo” sessions.

      Reply
  3. kweenb

    I thought I was the only person that did not enjoy the smell of the restorative line…horrible!
    but love just about everything on the coconut & hibiscus line. You should try the cowash.

    Reply

For personal advice or business inquires, please contact me at callmekinky08@gmail.com

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

