Natural Hair and Other Kinky Stuff

Kinky speaks to me

Image

My hair and I have a pretty good relationship. LOL. But sometimes, she wants to do her own thing and I have learned to listen to her when she speaks. The most important factor when achieving and maintaining natural hair is addressing your hair needs. If your hair is dry, that is a sign that you need moisture. If it breaks easily, you may need protein and moisture to create balance. Learning to properly apply products is also essential. I follow a 3-step process to give my low porosity hair the love that it needs. After shampooing, I apply a creamy leave-in conditioner, I add a moisturizer, and seal with an oil. There are other methods that are rampant on natural hair blogs but this is what works for me. I also mist my hair with water every few days and apply more moisturizer to keep my hair happy. Dry hair=breakage. coconut oil is one my favorite oils because of its penetrating properties, however, I opt for lighter oils after wash day to prevent weighing my hair down.

I am not offended by the word Nappy because I love my Kinks. And the truth is….on any given day she just might be nappy, kinky, coily, soft, fluffy, or  silky. That is why I love natural hair! Natural hair is diverse. My natural hair gives me options. I can have my mid-back length hair blowing in the wind one day and have kinky curls the next. She gets me. She matches my personality. My hair is a personal expression of self. I embrace her.

Please leave your kinky questions and comments below. 

6 Responses to “Kinky speaks to me”

    • callmekinky

      Someone of another race asked me if my employer had an issue with my hair or if it was considered unprofessional. I am not that sensitive but that question, in opinion, had some racial undertones.

      Reply

For personal advice or business inquires, please contact me at callmekinky08@gmail.com

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

